the stories

Just released on October 1: The Cumberland Bride, Book #5 in the Daughters of the Mayflower
series--my first full-length novel!!!

1794--the Wilderness Road to Kentucky
Thomas Bledsoe’s job is to get settlers safely up the Wilderness Road to their destination in Kentucky while keeping an ear out for news of Shawnee unrest. But na├»ve Kate Gruener’s inquisitive nature runs afoul of that plan with her persistent questions about his past, his “story” as she calls it. Her curiosity brings danger upon everyone, but in the face of peril, to Thomas’s surprise, the winsome girl also possesses an honest courage that proves the key to overcoming disaster.


Amazon (both paperback and Kindle) (both paperback and ebook)
Barnes & Noble (both paperback and Nook)


The Counterfeit Tory, sequel to The Highwayman, released May 2018 as part of The Backcountry Brides Collection!

1781--the South Carolina Backcountry

Jedidiah Wheeler (Sam’s cousin from The Highwayman) has always depended on his easy charm to get him through, but he'll need every ounce of wit to survive getting close to renegade Tory officer William Cunningham--and to keep the man's cousin from suspecting his true mission. Can he take it a step further and make her his ally?

Lizzy Cunningham resents any man who thinks he can get by with a wink and a smile. Doubly so the ones who try to get close to her—she knows she’s homely and difficult of temper, and that not a man has been made who can bear with her for a lifetime. But when a stranger comes out of nowhere, asking after her troublesome cousin, she finds her bruised heart too willing to believe he might truly be interested in her wellbeing.

As Jed gains the trust of the Tories, he sees that Lizzy is far more than the snarling tavern maid she pretends to be. In her unguarded moments she’s one of the most endearing misses he’s ever met—and bravest, when his own life is on the line. How can he bring her cousin down without endangering her? And dare Lizzy risk family loyalty for a kindness she’s sure is too good to be true?

Available here:

Barnes & Noble


The Highwayman first released May 2015 in Barbour's The Most Eligible Bachelor Collection, now out of print, but is available again in single-title Kindle format, and as part of the collection To Catch a Bachelor (both ebook and paperback).

1775--the Shenandoah Valley, Staunton, Virginia

Samuel Wheeler is an ordinary apprentice wagonmaster by day, a masked vigilante by night, but what started as a lark has gotten out of hand. He hardly sleeps, his secret identity has taken over his life, and the girl he loves barely notices him while his alter ego sets her aflutter.

Sally Brewster works hard at her parents’ inn, nestled in the lower Shenandoah Valley, along the Great Wagon Road that runs from Philadelphia down through the Carolinas. She pays little mind to the gossip about the mysterious highwayman who lately makes life difficult for the redcoats—until the night when the heroic figure saves her from brigands.

Available here:

Barnes & Noble 


A Pioneer Christmas Collection

My first novella, Defending Truth, one of the nine in A Pioneer Christmas Collection, released September 2013 by Barbour Publishing, was a 2014 RITA® nominee, and re-released September 2015!

On the frontier of western North Carolina, which will someday become east Tennessee, Truth Bledsoe keeps her family fed while her father is away fighting the British. When she discovers a half-starved, fugitive Tory, she’s not above feeding him, but to go past simple Christian charity to forgiveness seems impossible. To love would be unthinkable.

Micah Elliot has fled capture after the massacre at King’s Mountain, heartsick, battle weary, and ashamed of the cowardice that sent him westward over the mountains instead of eastward to home. Groping his way through a crisis of faith, he must discover and embrace what might finally be worth laying his life down for.

Limited print copies, but still available as e-book from many locations: (ebook only)
Amazon (Kindle and used paperback)



Rebels Thick As Trees ~ A whimsical retelling of Huck's Defeat, July 1780, for the July 2010 edition of Christian Fiction Online Magazine.

Bitter Chivalry Part One ~ a six-part fantasy series, also from CFOM