Fantasy Fiction Tour

Get my banner code or create your own banner

I'm hoping this banner works. :-)

What's the Fantasy Fiction Tour, you might ask? I'm glad you did. It's a massive East Coast book tour featuring four very tolerable if not really great Christian fantasy authors. (Okay, I couldn't resist ... I've only read the work of two, and enjoyed them VERY much! but the others are high on my TBR list.)

Bryan Davis
Sharon Hinck
Wayne Thomas Batson
Christopher Hopper

For a list of dates and locations, see the above link.

The Christian SFF Blog Tour group is doing a special *blog* tour this week and next in preparation for the *book* tour. You can read all about it here: A Christian Worldview of Fiction, or at any of the author websites above.

My own contribution to the tour is to post bits of the interview we recently did of Sharon Hinck on the Christian Fandom email list. This interview transcript will be available in its entirety on the Fandom website, where you can also find part one of the interview we did with Bryan Davis (part two is still in the process of being posted), but for now, here's a teaser ...

Tell us about your background, birthplace, where and when you grew up, what your childhood was like, etc.?

Greetings, all! It's fun to be here! Where and when I grew up? That's assuming I HAVE grown up. I'm not sure I'd make that claim. LOL!

I'm from Minnesota, and have lived in the Twin Cities most of my life except a couple years in prairie country in southwestern Minnesota when I was a church youth worker, and a couple years in Virginia when I was in grad school. My dad (now in heaven) came over as a WWII refugee in 1950--and I treasure Granny's stories about the Russian Revolution (she was in Novgorod as a school child at the time) and her experiences in Latvia during WWII).

Educational background? What did you take, and why?

Undergrad--majored in education (preparing for church work--Director of Christian Education) because I wanted to serve God as a vocation. Oddly, God kept steering me toward music, theatre, and dance--and I found I was doing more "ministry" in those places than in the churches I worked at.

Grad school--I got my MA in communication with a major in theatre and a minor in journalism (that's when I started writing for magazines, etc.). I had marvelous professors and studied poetry, novel writing, all forms of writing. LOVED IT.

What is your family situation? (Married? Kids? 1.7 dogs?)

My family situation is warm and cozy, and chaotic and lively. My wonderful hubby and I are going on 28 years of marriage. Four children, ages 24, 21, 16, and 14. They are all "artsy" so my poor husband is surrounded by musicians, composers, singers, writers, artists, actors.

Tune in tomorrow for more ...


Popular posts from this blog

Christian Fiction Scavenger Hunt Stop #27

Merry Christmas! A free cookbook and a two-book raffle!

Blog Tour: The Most Eligible Bachelor!